My year in gaming, blogging and living.

Today marks the one year anniversary of my blog, and what a year it has been. My confidence in my abilities has gone from strength to strength and I have seen a marked improvement in my writing over the last year. Writing about games has connected me with a plethora of new people and career options that I may have never encountered had I not booted my own arse into gear and started down this path.

This blog has been a creative venture, a cathartic distraction and a platform for me to voice and share my opinions, hopes and a lot of other nonsense – let’s be honest – with as many people as I can. Thank you to everyone who has supported my efforts so far: to my loyal and long-suffering friends for proofreading my work and providing me with a wealth of ideas and comic relief when I was struggling; to the wider Twitter community who have encouraged me every step of the way and provided me with the confidence to keep going; And finally the teams at OutofLives.net and BestGameEver.co.uk for giving me the opportunity to write, play and podcast with them as we all work towards the common goal of turning everyone into nerds, as well as sharing what we feel about games – and more – in 2017.

I’ve had the opportunity to preview games pre-release, write reviews for such games and even managed to secure a Press Pack for EGX Rezzed later in March. I achieved more in a year than I had ever hoped and am finally now feeling the benefit from all those textual analysis tutorials from Glasgow Uni! The past year has challenged me in ways that I could never have anticipated, both good and bad; my confidence and resilience were thoroughly tested. But, as the cliché goes, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger and I am stomping my way through the first quarter of 2017 on a high.

2017 sees the release of some of the most ambitious games of our time, including the newest addition to the Mass Effect family which I literally cannot contain my excitement about. I am looking forward to playing each of these blockbusters and writing as much as I can about them, hopefully encountering new platforms on which to share my opinions and scathing reviews. However, I am most looking forward to sharing in these new gaming experiences with all of you and am excited to connect with new people over the upcoming year. See you on Twitter!

Lauren (GameNora) xx

befunky-collage

 

2 thoughts on “My year in gaming, blogging and living.

  1. Just found your blog via Reddit, read a few articles. Love your writing style and your taste in games. Great to see someone whose blog is really paying off for them. All the best for 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

